top of page

COVID-19 Is Still Here — So Are Herbal Remedies

Sore throat.  Mild cold.  COVID-19. This is how last week progressed for me.  It was likely COVID-19 all along, but I didn’t realize it until five days after the initial sore throat.  I decided I should do a test to make sure it was not COVID-19 before visiting family, and was shocked to see the bold, positively positive indicator line!

 

I am very glad I tested myself, as I then changed from my “herbs-for-a-cold” to my “herbs-for COVID-19/Lyme” protocol.  I do feel the difference!  As I write this, I am on day 8 since the start of my sore throat.  I know COVID-19 is still with me, from the continuing, low-level symptoms and because I felt a marked improvement shortly after taking my tinctures. My husband is fine.  We both got the latest COVID-19 vaccination in November, which I credit with my only having a mild case and my husband not catching it from me.  (I chose not to get Paxlovid this time, since it is quite mild.)

 

Keep in mind that this list is the herbs I turned to for me based on how I was feeling.  This is not to say these particular herbs will help every person in the same way, but it will show you how I land on which herbs to use in each situation. 

 

My symptoms began with a sore throat, which is how my colds always start.  This is how I responded:

  • I squirted Spilanthes tincture onto the back of my tongue and throat to ease the pain and to coat the area with the wonderful antiviral constituents of Spilanthes. (Check out “Herbs A-Z” for more information on the antiviral, “anti-everything” support of Spilanthes.) 

  • I made a combination of Fire Cider, Garlic-Onion-Honey-Syrup and Elderberry tincture.  I tend to use the Elderberry tincture often throughout the winter, but had not been doing so lately.

  • I made a similar combination for my husband, adding Mullein Leaf for lung support as that is the area where he typically gets hit the worst.  I also added some Elderberry-infused honey to enhance the taste.  He gargles with a small amount and then swallows it to coat the throat and increase absorption into the bloodstream.

  • I also increased my Vitamin C intake.

 

My sore throat was never too bad, but as I felt my sinuses joining the party — the typical progression when I get a cold — I referred back to the article I posted a couple weeks ago, “Are You a Hacking Victim?”  (Yes, one of the reasons I write these is so I can refer back to them, too.) I didn’t have much of a cough, and didn’t want herbs for a wet cough which would dry out my nasal passages.  Along with sips of my fire cider blend, every 3 to 4 hours I took a few drops each of:

  • Mullein Leaf tincture for respiratory system support.

  • Burdock Root tincture for moistening and liver support.

  • Calendula tincture for lymph support.

 

The next day I felt some achiness coming on but I didn’t appear to have a fever, so I added some Boneset tincture to my Fire Cider blend.  (Check out “Herbs A-Z” for more information on Boneset, which has a long history of helping with ailments such as colds and influenza.)  This helped me a bit, but it still seemed like just a mild cold that wasn’t progressing much.  If I hadn’t been planning to spend the day with my daughter, I likely would not have even bothered to test for COVID-19 as I was sure it was just a bothersome cold.

 

After testing positive for COVID-19, I switched to my “herbs-for COVID-19/Lyme” protocol.  When I first had COVID-19 ten months ago, I noticed I felt debilitating joint pain very similar to when I was first diagnosed with Lyme disease several years ago.  Both diseases seem to have parasitic characteristics, spreading deep into varying parts of the body and thus difficult to manage.  Interestingly, Ivermectin, a hotly-debated pharmaceutical that some argue is useful in the treatment of COVID-19, is also used to treat parasitic inflammations. 

 

I was fascinated by research I had done recently on Japanese Knotweed, Polygonum cuspidatum.  Since I wasn’t miserable and could pay more attention to my reaction, I decided to try it for this case.  (Check out “Herbs A-Z” for more information on Japanese Knotweed.  I encourage you to also take time to read the monographs listed there about how its key constituents are able to cross the blood-brain barrier as well as reach other parts of the body that are deeper and harder to access.) 

 

Based on research from other countries using plant-based medicines to treat COVID-19, I also added Sweet Annie, Artemisia annua, which was found to be effective early on with COVID-19. It has also been used for decades in the treatment of malaria, which is a parasitic infection, according to this National Library of Medicine page.  Sweet Annie is one of my favorite landscaping plants due to its lovely scent, which you can also taste in the tincture.

 

So, here is the treatment I landed on after realizing I was dealing with COVID-19 instead of a common cold.  Three times a day:

  • Japanese Knotweed tincture (4-6 drops), which I found tastes very bitter and astringent, but not as bitter as Boneset.

  • Sweet Annie tincture (3-4 drops) is also a bit drying, but the taste is pleasant and it helps balance the astringency of the Knotweed.

  • Licorice Root tincture (3 drops) helps balance the dryness of the other two; acts as a synergist to help them work better together; and improves the taste greatly.

  • Calendula tincture (3-4 drops) supports the lymphatic system and provides additional balancing of the dryness of this blend.

  • Melatonin tablets (3 mg in the morning and 3 mg two hours before bed).  A conversation with my daughter-in-law prompted me to research the connection with COVID-19 and I was amazed to learn about Melatonin’s benefits beyond just being a natural sleep aid. (This National Library of Medicine page provides more information about Melatonin and COVID-19.)

  • I ran out of my Fire Cider blend and didn’t bother making more.  But I continued my higher doses of Vitamin C (in the form of ascorbic acid crystals to avoid the fillers in solid supplements).

 

Throughout the day, I continue to drink an assortment of teas, into which I add a variety of tinctures:

  • Elderberry.

  • Spilanthes.

  • Mullein Leaf to support the respiratory system.

  • Star Anise tastes good and contains oseltamivir, the active ingredient in the antiviral product Tamiflu.  Star Anise is quite strong, so only a drop or two is needed in a mug of tea.

  • Lemon would be a great addition, too, but my digestive system reacts negatively to lemon.

 

Other actions I have taken include:

  • Eliminating almost all sugar from my diet.

  • Eating more curry-type dishes for the strong anti-inflammatories naturally present in all those spices. 

  • Gentle rebounding on my BOSU ball to encourage the movement of lymph in my joints. 

 

If you read this entire article, I congratulate you and thank you for joining me on my journey to health!

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page