top of page

Medicinal Herb Garden "Must Haves"

These are plants I encourage beginning herbalists to cultivate in their gardens for ready access as a "backyard pharmacy." (For reference, I live just south of Minneapolis in USDA Plant Hardiness Zone 5). I am happy to share extra plants with anyone able to stop by and pick them up—I don't ship plants.

 

Calendula

Annual, but reseeds nicely.

Very easy to grow.

I prefer "Erfurter Orange" from Richters.

 

California Poppy

Annual, but reseeds nicely.

I've read that the orange flowering variety is best for medicine.

 

Chamomile

Annual, but reseeds nicely.

I prefer "Bodegold" from Richters.

 

Echinacea

Perennial, spreads nicely.

Echinacea purpurea is easiest variety to grow in our area.

There is debate among herbalists whether E. purpurea or E. angustifolia is "best" medicinally.

 

Lemon Balm

Perennial, can spread readily so plant wisely.

 

Marshmallow

Perennial, spreads nicely.

 

Mint

Perennial, can be invasive so plant wisely.

 

Oats

Annual

I like to plant this one as it is best tinctured fresh, in its milky oats stage, which lasts for only 1 week of the summer, so I want it readily accessible to watch for the perfect gathering time.

 

Spilanthes / Cress, Toothache Plant (Achmella olerancea)

Annual, reseeds occasionally

Very easy to grow

Interesting button flower with tingly taste.

Great plant to increase a child’s interest with plants.

 

St. John’s Wort

Perennial

Considered a noxious weed in some areas - check your local regulations.

 

Tulsi/Holy Basil

Annual, will need to plant every year

There are 4 different types of tulsi.  Kapoor is the easiest to grow and favorite of most people. I also grow the Krishna variety, as I personally prefer that one.

 

Yarrow, white

Perennial, can become invasive.  But it is one of the plants I use the most, so I appreciate that trait.

 

Sources

There are several very good companies offering organic seeds/plants for growing medicinal herbs. I customarily order from these two:

 

I am happy to share a plentiful supply of transplants, available through May. Check out the list in the Garden section of my website.



For more information

I recommend these two videos that I produced and posted on my website:

Growing a Backyard Pharmacy: Cultivating medicinal plants in your yard and gardens. (This includes growing tips as well as the medicinal uses of each plant.)

What's the Buzz? Planting for pollinators, people, and landscape beauty.

Comments


bottom of page